Opening in Las Vegas, March 25, 2016

Standard

The long knives are out for Batman v. Superman: Dawn of Justice (44), the latest atrocity from Zack Snyder. After ruining Superman, he seems intent on ruining Batman, and that he’s behind the Justice League of America films makes me throw up in my mouth a little bit. The reviews are scathing–one called it the “Showgirls of superhero films.” I think I have to see it, although I would probably do much better by enjoying this fine weather with a nice, long walk than spend two and a half hours in darkened theater. Fionnuala Halligan: “Gorging on bombast and self-importance, swamped by its own mythology, Batman v Superman is loud, sprawling, and distracted. The action jumps around almost as fast as a man can fly, but nowhere near as smoothly.”

I resisted seeing My Big Fat Greek Wedding for a long time, and when I finally saw it I understood why. It did get an Oscar nomination for Best Screenplay, one of the many major crimes by the Academy over the years. Now, 14 years later, we have My Big Fat Greek Wedding 2 (39), and it seems that Nia Vardalos should have remained a “whatever happened to?” case. Finonnuala Halligan: “Even given that lazy stereotyping is the point of her schtick, Vardalos’ broad routine hasn’t aged well, her heavily-(and widely-) accented ‘oily’ Greek family an uncomfortable, almost retro fit for today’s global sensitivities. Apart from that, the gags just aren’t that funny.”

The one film opening this week getting decent reviews is Hello, My Name Is Doris (62), but most of the accolades are going to Sally Field, who is the first performer of the year we can put on an Oscar shortlist. It’s also nice to see a movie about loneliness among the elderly, though I’m sure the average age of those seeing this movie will be higher than the speed limit. John DeFore: “It’s not nearly funny enough to call a comedy, but its seriousness about her lonely life is undercut by its depiction of her frankly ridiculous behavior.”

About Jackrabbit Slim

Location: Vegas, Baby! I’m much older than the other whippersnappers here, a baby boomer. I tend to be more snobbish about film, disdaining a lot of the multiplex fare for “cinema.” My favorite films: Woody Allen’s oeuvre (up until about 1990), The Godfather, The Graduate, A Hard Day’s Night, Pulp Fiction. Politics: Well, George McGovern was my political hero. I’m also a prickly atheist. Occupation: Poised to be an English teacher in Las Vegas. For many years I was an editor at Penthouse Magazine. My role on this blog seems to be writing lots of reviews and being the resident Oscar maven.

Leave a Reply

