Random Thread for August, 2016

Standard

What’s wrong with this headline:

Channing Tatum to Play Mermaid in ‘Splash’ Remake for Disney

Story here: http://www.hollywoodreporter.com/news/channing-tatum-play-mermaid-splash-916172

About Jackrabbit Slim

Location: Vegas, Baby! I’m much older than the other whippersnappers here, a baby boomer. I tend to be more snobbish about film, disdaining a lot of the multiplex fare for “cinema.” My favorite films: Woody Allen’s oeuvre (up until about 1990), The Godfather, The Graduate, A Hard Day’s Night, Pulp Fiction. Politics: Well, George McGovern was my political hero. I’m also a prickly atheist. Occupation: Poised to be an English teacher in Las Vegas. For many years I was an editor at Penthouse Magazine. My role on this blog seems to be writing lots of reviews and being the resident Oscar maven.

37 responses »

  1. Probably won’t impact on its box office much (initially anyway) but Suicide Squad getting a largely hostile critical reception. RT score at just 33% fresh last time I checked.

  2. I have no interest in Suicide Squad but the reaction surrounding it does interest me, it’s almost like the flip side of the reaction to Ghostbusters. On social media there seems to be a hostile reaction from the negative critical response, leading to things like the film getting rated 8.8 on imdb based on over 6,000 votes (99.9% of which of course haven’t seen it yet).

  3. Yeah, there’s something unique about fans of these DC properties in terms of their inability to handle criticism. I’ve never seen anything like it.

    It started when people made death threats to critics for not loving The Dark Knight Rises and now that sort of thing is almost expected whenever a new Batman or Superman movie opens.

  4. I think Marvel fans would be defensive too if their movies got that kind of drubbing, it’s just that they don’t.

  5. “I think Marvel fans would be defensive too if their movies got that kind of drubbing, it’s just that they don’t.”

    DC fans were making death threats to people that didn’t like The Dark Knight Rises, which is at 87%. Far, far from a critical drubbing.

  6. First peek at Woody Allen’s Amazon series, Crisis in Six Scenes:

    Allen has been airing his regrets about doing the show for months, but I’m not sure how much of that is schtick vs. him actually being unprepared for the rigors of a television series.

  7. A couple of laughs, but there’s no one from the original (Terry Zwigoff or The Coen Brothers) involved creatively so I’m not expecting much.

  8. Add Ghostbusters onto 2016’s franchise kill list. Sony is reportedly not proceeding with a sequel and will take a 70m+ loss.

  9. Ocean’s will be fine. Soderbergh is running the show as producer (and will shoot it) with Gary Ross directing and it’s not going to cost much.

    It’s also specifically positioned as an in-universe sequel and not a reboot. Bullock is playing the sister of Clooney’s character so it’s very easy for Clooney, Pitt, Damon, etc to show up.

  10. Re: Ghostbusters flop, it seems what sunk it wasn’t its performance in America (which was unspectacular but OK) but that it did very little business outside US; I think I read somewhere that it wasn’t released in China because of its subject matter which probably was the killer blow.

  11. A couple of laughs, but there’s no one from the original (Terry Zwigoff or The Coen Brothers) involved creatively so I’m not expecting much.

    That they couldn’t even get Lauren Graham back isn’t the best sign. As well-regarded as the first film was, this probably should’ve been made at least 5 years ago. When was the last time Thornton was in a noteworthy film?

  12. It’s been a while for a film, but Fargo (television) was only a couple of years ago. Probably the best thing he’s done in the 2010’s.

  13. Re: Ocean’s 8 (which I think is the title). I’m still dubious. The American public seems uninterested in action films starring a bunch of women. And as we’ve discussed here before, adding Julia Roberts to a cast means nothing box-office-wise these days.

  14. I’m really looking forward to Passengers, yes. There have been rumors that Sony is pushing it to 2017, but they haven’t panned out yet. We’ll definitely know shortly because the campaign is already a little overdue.

  15. re: Narnia – not too many franchises that have had three studios in four installments.

    I guess Terminator has had four studios in five movies (Orion, TriStar, Warner Brothers, Warner Brothers, Paramount).

  16. I’m always up for a new Narnia movie. I enjoyed the first, loathed the 2nd, and thought the 3rd was OK. Prince Caspian did get better for me upon repeat viewings, as as much as Dawn Treader got wrong about the story they did get one thing right: Will Poulter as Eustace Scrubb. That fact alone made me excited for a Silver Chair move within 3-4 years. However he is far too old now so I imagine an entirely new cast will be in the mix (though I’m sure Ben Barnes could use the silver screen work as the aged King Caspian).

    My ideal Puddleglum is still Mackenzie Crook & I wouldn’t mind (though she might) Tilda Swinton returning as the Lady of the Green Kirtle.

  17. Veteran mainstream Hollywood director Arthur Hiller has died aged 92. While from what I’ve seen of his work I never rated him particularly highly, it can’t be denied he had a lengthy and impressive career. One touching aspect of his life is that he died just a couple of months after his wife died whom he was married to for 68 years.

    Quite remarkable the amount of notable film directors that have passed away in the past couple of months.

  18. I’ve just looked over Hiller’s resume and note that he directed many films that I’ve seen but had no idea he was the director, like Silver Streak, The In-Laws, and Outrageous Fortune. I must admit I’ve never seen Love Story.

  19. Has anyone else here watched Stranger Things? I just joined the streaming generation and I started with a good one. I thought it was fantastic, as if Steven Spielberg had directed an adaptation of a Steven King novel. Now I’ve moved on to The Man in the High Castle, which I’m enjoying. Stranger Things is better than any movie I’ve seen this summer.

  20. I’m 6 episodes in and am loving every minute of Stranger Things. There are plenty of Netflix Originals to love…Kimmy Schmidt is great for comedy & on the Marvel front I’d highly recommend Daredevil & Jessica Jones (to be watched in the order they were released – DD S1, JJ S1, DD S2)

  21. Heard a lot of people say similar things re: Stranger Things being the best Summer movie. Looking forward to watching it.

    I’m finishing up The Get Down now. I’m not a Baz Luhrmann fan, but the subject matter interested me. It’s uneven, but I like it.

  22. I’ve just looked over Hiller’s resume and note that he directed many films that I’ve seen but had no idea he was the director, like Silver Streak, The In-Laws, and Outrageous Fortune. I must admit I’ve never seen Love Story.

    I’ve actually seen ‘Love Story’ and – once you get used to the non-naturalistic dialogue – it’s pretty good.

    I’ve seen a few of Hiller’s more obscure comedies (Promise Her Anything, The Tiger Makes Out) and he seemed to equate irritating usage of speedied-up footage, ‘wacky’ behaviour as the equivalent of unconventional filmmaking. Post-Love Story he became a much more conventional director.

  23. Speaking of streaming series: Amazon’s Jean Claude Van Johnson hits today.

    I love how diverse the team behind it is:
    Director Peter Atencio (Key and Peele, Keanu)
    Writer David Callaham (Godzilla, The Expendables)
    Producer Debra Lovatelli (The Good Wife)
    Executive Producer Ridley Scott (Gladiator, Alien)
    Starring Jean Claude Van Damme (Timecop, Hard Target) as a fictionalized version of himself.

  24. “Maybe you’ve seen Time Cop? It’s like Looper, with Bruce Willis, only….a million times better.”

    The pilot is available for free right now on Amazon.

  25. The weird thing is that they do the Time Cop / Looper joke TWICE in the pilot, which seems bizarre.

    Anyway, it’s a mess. The plot is very rushed…we don’t really get to learn much about “Van Damme” as a character before he’s thrust into action. The female lead is miscast and the Hollywood satire is weak.

    The best scene is from the trailer (with Van Damme going through his depressing morning routine).

    Still, there’s potential if it goes to series and they make some big changes.

  26. I think the problem is that the trailer seemed to hint at something along the lines of “Bojack Horseman…plus martial arts” and instead it’s more like “Eagleheart…minus the brains, edge and surrealism”. That they couldn’t even land most of the Hollywood jokes is very alarming.

    I think there’s enormous comedic potential in seeing a washed up, world weary Van Damme manage his dual careers as a spy and B-movie star (and he’s very good in the pilot) but the writing isn’t even close to where it needs to be.

Leave a Reply

