Opening in Las Vegas, Thanksgiving Weekend, 2016

Standard

A cornucopia of fims opening this weekend, some for almost every taste.

The likely box officer winner this weekend is Moana (81), an animated film from Walt Disney. A studio ever interesed in diversity, this time the story is about the people of Oceania. My interest in this is whether Lin-Manuel Miranda, who wrote songs for the film, will get an Oscar, thus completing his EGOT.

Some Oscar contenders for above the line nominations opening this weekend include Loving (79), directed by Jeff Nichols, about the couple whose Supreme Court case ended anti-miscegenation laws. As we enter the age of Trump, it’s always good to be reminded the battles we’ve already fought and don’t need to fight again.

Allied (60) is a World War II drama with Brad Pitt and Marion Cotillard as French-resistance fighters that is being compared to Casablanca, at least in its plot. The trailer looks strong, I’ll probably catch it eventually. Directed by Robert Zemeckis.

Warren Beatty has wanted to make a film about Howard Hughes, and he finally did in Rules Don’t Apply (60) , but it seems to be something of a romantic comedy, which is odd, with Hughes not the central character. I had thought Beatty retired, so I’d be curious to see what he’s up to (of course, I never did get around to see his last film, Town and Country) but it may have to wait for home video.

Finally is Bad Santa 2 (40). I yield to no one in my appreciation of the first film, which was over a decade ago, and is as vulgarly funny as any film I’ve ever seen, but none of the creative team remain and this one is getting harsh reviews. I probably will yield to temptation and at least rent it some day.

 

 

About Jackrabbit Slim

Location: Vegas, Baby! I’m much older than the other whippersnappers here, a baby boomer. I tend to be more snobbish about film, disdaining a lot of the multiplex fare for “cinema.” My favorite films: Woody Allen’s oeuvre (up until about 1990), The Godfather, The Graduate, A Hard Day’s Night, Pulp Fiction. Politics: Well, George McGovern was my political hero. I’m also a prickly atheist. Occupation: Poised to be an English teacher in Las Vegas. For many years I was an editor at Penthouse Magazine. My role on this blog seems to be writing lots of reviews and being the resident Oscar maven.

2 responses »

  1. Yeah, Bad Santa should be my most anticipated movie of the holiday season but going from Zwigoff / The Coen Brothers to Mark Waters and a couple of nobody screenwriters is a massive downgrade.

  2. Saw ‘Allied’ today. It has a lot of positives to it: it’s slickly and smartly done and a good reminder of what a capable director Zemeckis is. The story is generally interesting, Pitt and Cotillard are capable leads and the film is convincing in recreating 1940s Europe.

    But I think the film goes off the rails a bit in the closing stages. The behaviour of Pitt’s character is not only hard to believe but doesn’t engender him to much sympathy like the filmmakers assumed it should. As a result the emotional finale just had no impact on me.

Leave a Reply

