Opening in Las Vegas, January 6, 2017

Standard

Two leftovers from 2016 and 2017’s first new release! And of course it’s shitty.

Sorry to say, but Hidden Figures (74) looks dreadful. It’s certainly a worthy story–African American women who were mathemiticians helping the space program, now getting their due, and it may pick up some Oscar nominations, but the trailer makes it seem like a pandering exercise in “see, black women are smart, too.” Anybody who doesn’t know that already doesn’t deserve to be able to go to the movies. I’d much rather see a documentary on the subject.

A bit more intriguing to me, though I probably won’t see it in a theater, is A Monster Calls (76). It looks like a variation on the very popular theme of the beleaguered kid having his own personal bodyguard to wreak havoc on his enemies. When I was a kid I longed to have a robot like the one in Lost in Space to avenge myself against bullies. “Danger, Will Robinson!” I have a feeling the monster in this film is just inside the kid’s head, but I don’t know for sure.

The fifth in the series, Underworld: Blood Wars (20) is a typically horrible film that gets released the first weekend of the year. I guess it’s counter-programming for all the good movies that are out there now. “Gee, Martha, there’s so many of these durn quality films out there, I want to see something really stupid.” Well, here you go. I actually saw one or two of these movies on DVD just to see Kate Beckinsale. I’m not dead, you know.

By the way, not all January releases used to be terrible. The Grapes of Wrath was actually released in the first week of January, 1940, when all types of movies were released at all times of the year. Topic for discussion: what’s the best movie you can rememeber that was released in January? (and I don’t mean an expansion of a movie released in December).

About Jackrabbit Slim

Location: Vegas, Baby! I’m much older than the other whippersnappers here, a baby boomer. I tend to be more snobbish about film, disdaining a lot of the multiplex fare for “cinema.” My favorite films: Woody Allen’s oeuvre (up until about 1990), The Godfather, The Graduate, A Hard Day’s Night, Pulp Fiction. Politics: Well, George McGovern was my political hero. I’m also a prickly atheist. Occupation: Poised to be an English teacher in Las Vegas. For many years I was an editor at Penthouse Magazine. My role on this blog seems to be writing lots of reviews and being the resident Oscar maven.

10 responses »

  1. Maybe Deep Rising. Underrated horror-action-comedy from Stephen Sommers before coke destroyed his brain.

  2. Shit, now I really want to watch Deep Rising, but it’s not on Netflix because nothing is on Netflix.

  3. Truth. There is literally nothing on Netflix. Not real happy with the streaming. The Blu ray delivery is pretty great. There is nothing on streaming.

  4. Hidden Figures appears to be locking in a Best Picture nom this weekend by putting an end to Rogue One’s reign.

  5. There is so much on Netflix I don’t know if I’ll ever be able to catch up. The “nothing on Netflix” statement always befuddles me.

    Cloverfield was probably the best January release in very recent memory. I need to find a list of all exclusive January releases

  6. Almost invariably, when I think of a movie I want to watch, it’s not on Netflix. And I’m not talking about super obscure stuff. Netflix has been losing outside film content for years, which is why they’ve put so much focus on original content, especially original TV shows. But that’s not really what I’m looking for.

  7. When Netflix doesn’t have a movie, I check Amazon, and they usually do. If you’re a prime member, many are free. If you’re not, you may to pay as little as 3.99 for the rental.

  8. I don’t have prime. I supplement with iTunes, which has a lot of $2.99 or $3.99 rentals, but some they only have for sale.

  9. Yeah, some of the Amazon titles are only for sale, or free with some subscription, like to Starz. But between Amazon and Netflix, I find almost any movie I want to see.

  10. Eventually every studio and TV channel will have their own streaming site, will pay extra to rent options on Amazon and iTunes. Netflix will be just a another studio, with no other content but their own.

Leave a Reply

