Opening in Las Vegas, January 13, 2017

Standard

Lots of expansions of Oscar bait this week, plus some usual January trash.

The long-awaited Martin Scorsese film, Silence (79) is the top release this week. Scorsese has wanted to make this movie for nearly thirty years. As someone who has seen all of Scorsese’s film (and I do mean all) I’ll be there tomorrow, even though it’s an almost three-hour film about missionaries in Japan (seems more Kundun that Mean Streets).

Live by Night (48) the fourth feature of by Ben Affleck, seems to be his first dud. That’s too bad, because I read the book and kind of wanted to see it. Reviews indicate what I suspected–there’s too much in the book for a two-hour movie. He should have made an epic or a miniseries. It’s an old-fashioned gangster tale, and yes, it takes place in Boston (among other places).

Speaking of Boston, Patriots Day (70) is getting decent reviews, except in the Boston area (there’s some gripes about Mark Wahlberg playing a composite character). I can’t see myself actually paying money to see a Peter Berg film. I did that once for Very Bad Things and got what I deserved. I may see it on home video.

Elle (89) just won Isabelle Huppert a Golden Globe, as well as Best Foreign Film. While Huppert, a great actress who has never been nominated for an Oscar, may get one, the film will not, as it’s not on the shortlist. Anyway, the film is a highly regarded if violent film from Paul Verhoeven. When’s the last good movie this guy made?

The January trash starts with Monster Trucks (41), which seems like an idea based on putting the words monster and truck together and going from there. So, these trucks have actual monsters in them. Not my cup of tea.

Sleepless (28) shows how far Jamie Foxx has fallen. Topic for discussion: can Foxx’s career be saved? Typical cop film. Set in Las Vegas. May have to rent someday to see if any local landmarks are used.

Finally, The Bye Bye Man (35) seems to be an attempt to cash in on the Slender Man rumors as well as the creepy clown phenomenon. Tonights showings will be full of teenagers.

 

 

About Jackrabbit Slim

Location: Vegas, Baby! I’m much older than the other whippersnappers here, a baby boomer. I tend to be more snobbish about film, disdaining a lot of the multiplex fare for “cinema.” My favorite films: Woody Allen’s oeuvre (up until about 1990), The Godfather, The Graduate, A Hard Day’s Night, Pulp Fiction. Politics: Well, George McGovern was my political hero. I’m also a prickly atheist. Occupation: Poised to be an English teacher in Las Vegas. For many years I was an editor at Penthouse Magazine. My role on this blog seems to be writing lots of reviews and being the resident Oscar maven.

2 responses »

  1. Re: Foxx, I think his main issue is that he doesn’t done much film work at all in recent years and when he has done it’s either relatively minor roles in films like Horrible Bosses or outright flops like Annie. And I haven’t seen that much of his work but his Ray Oscar aside, I wouldn’t have thought he considered a top-notch film actor, or perhaps I’m underestimating him.

  2. Just looking further at that ‘Annie’ remake, not only did Foxx not make any films in 2015-16 but Cameron Diaz hasn’t made a film since then. Must’ve been a cursed production!

Leave a Reply

