Random Thread for March 2017

Standard

Too soon?

http://www.hollywoodreporter.com/news/uk-cinema-pranks-audience-by-playing-20-seconds-la-la-land-before-moonlight-screening-982347?facebook_20170302

About Jackrabbit Slim

Location: Vegas, Baby! I’m much older than the other whippersnappers here, a baby boomer. I tend to be more snobbish about film, disdaining a lot of the multiplex fare for “cinema.” My favorite films: Woody Allen’s oeuvre (up until about 1990), The Godfather, The Graduate, A Hard Day’s Night, Pulp Fiction. Politics: Well, George McGovern was my political hero. I’m also a prickly atheist. Occupation: Poised to be an English teacher in Las Vegas. For many years I was an editor at Penthouse Magazine. My role on this blog seems to be writing lots of reviews and being the resident Oscar maven.

11 responses »

  1. Kong: Skull Island is tracking for a pretty disappointing opening. If the 30-40m projections come true – it might not make 100m domestic total, which is catastrophic for something that’s supposed to be launching a new shared universe.

  2. Super random question for Marco – have you ever been to Canberra? Is it a major tourist destination for Australians the way that Washington is for Americans? There aren’t very many countries that have planned capital cities the way that the US and Australia do (Brazil and Belize come immediately to mind).

  3. No, I’ve never been in Canberra and it certainly isn’t regarded as a tourist destination. It’s always had the reputation of being a dull, lifeless town overstuffed with politicians. It certainly has a worse rep than any of the six state capital cities here and a few other major towns in Oz as well.

    Funnily enough, I saw this question right while I am at Melbourne Airport preparing to visit Adelaide for the first time. Quite a coincidence! And visiting Canberra as a holiday destination never even crossed my mind.

  4. James: If the 30-40m projections come true – it might not make 100m domestic total,

    Comes in at 61 million, which should calm some fears. And it should not drop that much, because it’s very good.

  5. Comes in at 61 million, which should calm some fears. And it should not drop that much, because it’s very good.

    WB’s marketing department worked magic in that final week, blowing even the most aggressive tracking numbers out of the water. They’re the best in the business right now.

    I’ll be seeing it in the next few days myself, looking forward to it.

  6. In my never-ending quest to find movies actually worth watching on Netflix streaming, I ran across this fantastic gem from Ireland. If you have streaming, watch it. It’s great.

  7. I still don’t get the “there’s nothing on Netflix!” argument.

    First off: I will never finish everything on my Netflix queue. It’s impossible.
    Secondly: You can’t look at Netflix as being your sole source of streaming entertainment. You wouldn’t say that same of HBO or any other cable channel, why would streaming services be any different? Like cable, you need multiple sources (although 3-4 as opposed to hundreds) to get everything you want.

  8. Finally got around to watching the second season of Fargo, I’m fairly certain I didn’t see a better movie in the last year. Absolutely engrossing from start to finish.

Leave a Reply

