Random Thread for April, 2017

Standard

Lindsey_Morgan,_Alma_Awards_2012_Red_Carpet_Arrivals

This is Lindsey Morgan. She is supposedly the new Batgirl, in a film to be directed by Joss Whedon. I’ve never heard of her.

About Jackrabbit Slim

Location: Vegas, Baby! I’m much older than the other whippersnappers here, a baby boomer. I tend to be more snobbish about film, disdaining a lot of the multiplex fare for “cinema.” My favorite films: Woody Allen’s oeuvre (up until about 1990), The Godfather, The Graduate, A Hard Day’s Night, Pulp Fiction. Politics: Well, George McGovern was my political hero. I’m also a prickly atheist. Occupation: Poised to be an English teacher in Las Vegas. For many years I was an editor at Penthouse Magazine. My role on this blog seems to be writing lots of reviews and being the resident Oscar maven.

9 responses »

  1. Michael Ballhaus, cinematographer for Goodfellas and many other films, has died. His greatest achievement may be the “Copa” shot, the three-minute take as characters walk into the Copacabana.

  2. For Jack Nicholson’s 80th birthday, The Hollywood Reporter has compiled his ten best performances: http://www.hollywoodreporter.com/lists/jack-nicholsons-10-best-performances-996345/item/pledge-jack-nicholson-films-996330

    I can’t say I disagree, though sadly I have never seen The Pledge. A late performance that is also good is Blood and Wine with Michael Caine. Interesting that Reds, Prizzi’s Honor, and Ironweed are not on the list, nor his third Oscar, As Good As it Gets.

  3. I know that betting against James Cameron is never a good idea – but does the world really need four Avatar sequels? Beginning 11 years after the original, no less?

  4. For Jack Nicholson’s 80th birthday, The Hollywood Reporter has compiled his ten best performances: I can’t say I disagree, though sadly I have never seen The Pledge. A late performance that is also good is Blood and Wine with Michael Caine. Interesting that Reds, Prizzi’s Honor, and Ironweed are not on the list, nor his third Oscar, As Good As it Gets.

    I haven’t seen all the movies in that list (let alone during Nicholson's career) but that looks like a good effort.

    Glad About Schmidt is there and I’m impressed with Five Easy Pieces getting top spot (a film that’s too easily overlooked these days). Never really cared that much for his Batman role though (or the film itself).

    Re: As Good As It Gets, I reviewed it here back in 2010 and – not having seen it since its cinema release – was surprised that Nicholson’s character and performance were probably the weak part of the film; I thought he was coasting on his past glory in it and naturally, he got an Oscar for it.

    I haven’t seen Prizzi’s Honor but it is surprising to me how forgotten it is today; a critical and commercial hit, an Oscar winner by a famous director at the end of his long career and yet hardly mentioned at all today.

  5. In the least surprising news this decade, Steven Soderbergh has announced he’s making a ‘comeback’ to directing films after retiring barely four years ago.

    Anyone who makes loud noises about retiring and making big proclamations like movies are dead as Soderbergh did you can rest assured they’ll be back soon enough. If you’re going to retire in that business, you just do it.

  6. Re Jack Nicholson: when someone makes a top ten list of your performances and five of your Oscar nominations are left out, you’ve had yourself quite a career.

Leave a Reply

