Jake Gyllenhaal is Spider-Man 4 (or 2nd? Whatever)

Joblo.com has the scoop. Spider-Man Strikes Back, coming summer 2010.

kdunst.jpg

Gyllenhaal is a good fit for the role (he’s been rumored for it even before Maguire was cast) but more important is who they’re getting to direct, which of course has not been decided. Screenplay is barely written (Zodiac writer James Vanderbilt is on it) but they’ve already cast the main role. Good luck with having the director not feel like a whore.

Studio Head: So, we’ve already cast all the parts, hired all the people involved, decided where it’s going to shoot, how it’s going to look, the marketing is all in place and we’re having U2 do the theme song in conjunction with the musical.
Potential Director: So what do you need me for?
Studio Head: We need you to tell the actors where to stand. And say their lines right.
Potential Director: Okay.
Studio Head: It eliminates insecurities, both yours and ours. Look at it like a package. A gift, from us to you.

6 thoughts on “Jake Gyllenhaal is Spider-Man 4 (or 2nd? Whatever)

  1. I was all-set to explain exactly why I felt JoBlo’s scoop was horseshit (Gyllenhaal’s age vs. Amy Pascal’s desire to cast a much younger actor, Jake’s career trajectory, etc)

    Then I looked at the date…almost had me!

  2. It was a cute gag 7-8 years ago, but everyone tries too hard these days.

    The only chuckle I got today was from reading IESB’s (fairly deadpan) story claiming that the FOX is trying to push the title “X-Files 2: Curse of the Werepeople” on Chris Carter.

  3. True. Speaking of Spider-Man 4, I do wonder who will actually get the gig. Raimi is now committed to the Jack Ryan franchise at Paramount, so I’d say it’s all-but-confirmed that he’s (thankfully) out.

    I’d love to see them pick someone out of left field, but I doubt they’ll take a major risk with their golden goose.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.