Hollywood continues to be bereft of ideas

News comes today that two more films based on bad television shows are in the works: Welcome Back, Kotter, this time starring Ice Cube (this time, will the Sweathogs be packing heat?) and Dallas, starring John Travolta as J.R., also starring Owen Wilson, Shirley MacLaine, and Jennifer Lopez. Those are two movies I’ll never see.

Read More Hollywood continues to be bereft of ideas

Reviewing

I feel somewhat afraid of being guilty of overpraise in regards to the films I’ve reviewed so far. Tsotsi is a better film than Strings, but my review of Strings reads more positive. I don’t know if one gets across the correct opinion in one’s reviews. Still, I’m very sure history will prove me right […]

Read More Reviewing

Drabet

In my review of Storm I wrote about a journalist who claimed the Danes were continuing to beat the Swedish film industry. It’s true. Pathetic, of the Swedes, but painfully obvious. To go somewhat back in history; I don’t know how many of you read, or even remember, the last Viking Gangbang column. But anyway, […]

Read More Drabet

Tsotsi

Not as excellent as I’d anticipated but still pretty damn good. Those with high expectations of this being the South African City of God should perhaps lower them a bit. This is a much smaller story, taking place over a much shorter span timespan. It doesn’t have the frenzied pace of that Brazilian film, and […]

Read More Tsotsi